Blogging

 I do not like blogging! I think I’ve said this before! Over the last 2 months, I have read copious really interesting, really well written, thoughtful, inspired blog posts by the other members of the group, plus heaps of other readings. You’d think that would cause me to jump on the bandwagon and join in. It did and it didn’t. My fear of getting things wrong and my perfectionism won out. I didn’t realise how much of a perfectionist I was until this course. I have sat down and gone through my PKM routine daily, set up my blog page, put a title, planned an outline and then completely scrapped the whole lot for fear I had not read something properly or not completely understood the concept I was about to write about. 

This is not a new phenomenon. Yurkiw (2006) explores how blogging challenges preservice teachers to become risk takers and to have an attitude to “accept and channel student failure to a greater extent than is already done”. I guess that sums it up for you. I don’t like taking risks. Yet I know from the literature, how important risk is and overcoming fear of failure. I just don’t want to do it in public. 

Yurkiw (2006) won me though, in this paragraph:

The belief is that teaching professionals who have a solid understanding of how pedagogical theory translates into practice, and who are able to reflect on their experiences in order to determine how to consistently improve their practice, will be better able to bring out the same qualities in their students”. 

I feel like I have a decent understanding of pedagogy, but I’m only just scratching the surface when it comes to reflexivity. I really want to be able to do this, and I feel like this experience will allow me to sympathise with my students in the classroom as we work together. 

 

9 thoughts on “Blogging

  1. Hi Elieisha
    Welcome! Sorry if I have got the spelling wrong. I havent mastered going back and forth on my tablet and don’t want to lose what I have written so far. Blog away and I will answer as I also am stil learning how this strang new world operatea.
    Cheers a fellow stumbler, Tracey

    Like

    • Hello Tracey!
      Blogging is kind of fun though, now, kinda! I feel like I’m on a roll tonight! I’ve decided I don’t care how well written things are, or how much preparation goes into each blog post now, I just need to get some more done! And start writing every time I read something rather than build it up with a grand plan to write some amazing, earth shattering piece haha!
      How are you going with everything?

      Like

  2. I so empathise with you! I find blogging a double-edged sword. On the one hand, a great way to organise my thoughts but on the other, excruciatingly painful and difficult! I spend hours and hours reading and thinking. Then thinking and over-thinking about what I should write. I can become so bogged down in what I think others will think about what I have written, that I hardly write anything. Is what I have written good enough? Will people even read it? A few meltdowns later, I have had to just break it down into tasks I have to complete and I admit, the more I do it, the easier it does get…still painful but easier! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mari says:

    Hi Eleisha,
    Just stumbled upon your blogs, and realized that I haven’t been following you until now. Was interesting reading your posts… Love the Yurkiw quote! I would have loved to comment properly, but right now I am SO stressed out about getting those essays done together with my workload at work. I guess I also suffer a bit from perfectionism, although the process of making art has taught me to “let go” a bit more and to allow myself to make mistakes. I have found blogging to be the perfect cure for not over-thinking things, while you are actually thinking very hard about everything! Does that make sense? 😉
    Cheers, Mari

    Like

Leave a Reply

